OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERADone with admiring the Macho Temple, we moved up north to the Town of Luna 40km away from San Fernando. We were on our way to the pebble beach but we can’t afford not to stop and checkout the beautiful Shrine of Our Lady of Namacpacan. Luna Town was used to be called Namacpacan due to the town’s reputed hospitality to visitors. Namacpacan is an Ilocano word meaning “one who had given food”. It was in October 18, 1906 when the town changed its name to Luna to honor the Luna brothers Antonio and Luna.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe Namacpacan Church has an eye-catching facade painted in blue and white. The walls surrounding the church are still the original bricks and stone already centuries old. On the sides of the church is a unique step-buttress that leads up to the roof. Housed inside the church is the miraculous image of Our Lady of Namacpacan. The image was originally en route to Vigan, Ilocos Sur from Spain but a storm swept their ship away to La Union instead.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWhen they were going to transport the image by land, the wooden image refused to budge and the people took it as a sign to let it stay at Namacpacan. Our Lady of Namacpacan claimed to have healed a lame girl Rosa Roldan to walk again, some tribal families were given food and blankets by the lady herself, and Pope Pius XII saw the image of Our Lady of Namacpacan before his death.

 

Source: http://www.ironwulf.net/

Leave a comment